May 29 2017

Race Report – Peel Junior Tour and Peel Ladies Tour – 27 May 2017

The Peel Junior Tour has been a regular fixture on the WA cycling calendar for a number of years. The past two at the Kwinana Motorplex. Last Saturday the Peel District Cycling Club ran their first Peel Ladies Tour in conjunction with Peel Junior Tour.

The tour consisted of three races, a 3.5km prologue (time trail) around a technical course that used the return road, service roads and the pit area of the Motorplex. The road race was between 5 laps for the under 13s to 15 laps for the under 17 men, A and B grade women of the same course. The event finished with a 500 metre sprint.

In the under 13s prologue the fastest male was Peel Districts’ Ashton Sime, a couple of seconds ahead of the fastest under 13 women, Isabella Commons from the South West Cycling Club in Bunbury. The road race saw Sime, Commons and three others form a break on the first lap. On the final lap Sime and Commons attacked the break and rode away. With Sime sprinting to the line to claim bragging rights. In the sprints both Sime and Commons complete three wins from three events. Sime took the under 13 male title, with Jordan Williams secured second overall, with a seconds in the prologue, sprint and third in the road race. Rusty Wisewould was third .overall. Commons took the under 13 female title, with Vanessa Baker second.

The under 15 men’s prologue saw South West’s Joshua Commons and Peel Districts Matthew Connan separated by less that a second. The road race saw Commons and Connan in a break of four at the end of the first lap, the next lap saw the pair off the front and that is where they stayed for the next eight laps to the finish, where Commons out sprinted Connan to take victory. In the 500 metre sprint, Commons took the win, and secured overall victory. Connan was second and second overall. Joshua Howe, was third in every event and third overall.

The under 15 women’s prologue was won by Albany’s Emily Wiggin’s with Kyla Gilbertson second and Jessica Waldron third. In the road race, the trio worked with an under 15 men’s chase group, to establish a good lead over their competitors. With two laps to go, they stopped working with the men and their race became very tactical. In the sprint finish it was Wiggins first, Gilbertson second and Waldron third. These results were then replicated in the sprint race and the overall. With Wiggins first, Gilbertson second and Waldron third.

The under 17 men’s prologue saw Daniel Lee take the win by little over a second from Jordan Dawson. In the road race Lee was dropped early in the road race. Dawson stayed with the leading bunch of five, until he attacked late on the final lap to take victory from Riley Hislop and James Derrick. In the sprint race it was Dawson first and Derrick second. Dawson took the overall honours, with Derrick second and Lee third.

Jordan Dawson wins the Under 17 mens sprint

Jordan Dawson wins the Under 17 mens sprint

The under 17’s women’s race was going to be a tactical with Laura Hodges, Emma Lendrum and Danica Wiggins representing the Wormall Civil Alexium team, against Bike Bookings team’s Dharlia Haines. In the opening prologue it was Hodges first, Haines second and Wiggins third. In the road race Hodges attacked early and got a break. Forcing Haines to chase with Hodge’s team mates sitting on her wheel. Haines decided not to risk dragging riders across to the front, only for them to attack her. Haines then spent the race trying to get away from Lendrum and Wiggins. She succeeded late in the race, but could not catch Hodges who finished first, and had to settle for second, with Lendrum third. In the sprint race Lendrum took the win, Haines was second and Hodges third. In the overall Hodges was first, Haines second and Lendrum third.

The best result of the day as far as Peel District Cycling Club was concerned was the number of women racing in D grade. With nearly 20 riders, it was the biggest field of women in a single grade in memory. With a number of riders having their first competitive outing. In the prologue it was Shannon Savage first, Ruth Moyses second and Natasha Pertwee third. The road race over ten laps, saw the field whittled down to a dozen riders, in the bunch sprint it was Henriette Peschke first, Anne Boyle second and Pertwee third. The sprint race was another close battle with Boyle taking the honours from Peschke. Peschke’s fifth place finish in the prologue, secured her overall victory, just ahead of Boyle with Savage third.

The finish to the D grade Road Race was close

The finish to the D grade Road Race was close

C grade saw Emma Tattum win the proluge, with Sandra Cheema second and Catherine Zainudin third. The road race was neutralised after a competitor was injured in a crash. The sprint race saw Rebecca Blake win, with Zainudin and Zoe Stolton third. Which saw Tattum the overall winner, with Blake second and Zainudin third.

A number of riders brought their time trial bikes for the prologue. Louise McKay who has only been racing for a little over a year and only started racing time trials this year. Used her time trial bike to great effect take the win, Shannon Miragilia rode her time trial bike to second. The road race broke quickly apart, with four riders being pursued by four riders. Two laps later the gap was growing with three riders chasing, the winner was always going to come from the front four. The four stayed together until the final lap, when a late attack by McKay saw her take victory, with Kirsta Matthews second. While all the other riders had time to recover between their races, both Women’s A and B grade had less than 10 minutes after their road race to back up for the sprint. Megan Gammie bravely tried tried to lead from the start, only to be mown down by McKay in the final metres, Gammie held on for second from a fast finishing Matthews. McKay won the overall, with Matthews second and Miragilia third.

While Wormall Civil Alexium team dominated the women’s under 17 races, they were outnumbered in Women’s A grade race by the Veris Racing four team to two. The prologue was won by Veris’s time trial specialist Stefanie Van Amerongen with her team mate Sarah Duffield second. The team tactics came into effect with Veris’s Erin Nolan and Van Amerongen getting an early break and Van Amerongen using her time trialing skills to develop a good lead. The bunch quickly broke up, behind them, leaving Wormall Civil Alexium’s Michelle McLintock chasing with Duffield sitting on her wheel. McLintock caught Van Amerongen who had given her all to help her team mate. Van Amerongen and Duffield sat on McLintock’s as she closed to within 100 metres of Nolan at the finish. It was not enough as Nolan took the win, Duffield finished second and Van Amerongen third. The women then backed up almost straight away to the sprint race, which was won by Duffield, McLintock recovered enough to finish second, with Van Amerongen third. Duffiled took out the overall, with Van Amerongen second and McLintock third.

Louise McKay shows her time trialing skills to win the B grade prologue

Louise McKay shows her time trialing skills to win the B grade prologue