Roberts Reigns Supreme at Rockingham

Some of Peel’s juniors in kit donated by W.A World Champion rider Cameron Meyer’s family

This was one of the busiest weekends of the season at the Peel District Cycling Club with 58 riders eager to ride.

There was again a relatively low turnout of A Grade riders  so A and B grades were combined for the racing but with each grade getting its fair share of points towards the Crit Rider of the Year Award presented at the annual prize giving dinner.

A grade took the first 4 places as expected after some fast riding and the eventual winner Mark Roberts coming to grief a few laps before the end. Roberts took a lap out to gather his wits, re-joined the bunch and took the final sprint from newly promoted Jackson Brown, Daniel Gray and Dave Berglund.

The C grade event was well subscribed with 14 entrants riding for 40 minutes plus a lap. The field stayed together for the whole race and in a tight bunch finish was won by John Bouwknegt, from Andrew Brown and Richard Williamson.

The D grade event,  with a dozen riders, was also a bunch affair with newly promoted Matthew Beecroft winning his first event at the higher grade from Rob Ramirez and visiting junior rider Michael Hiscock.

E grade was shattered when a breakaway attempt was made, and succeeded on the first lap. Mark Glorie, Neil Andresen, Kyle Nankivell and John Bywater kept the momentum going and finished in that order.

A departure from our normal program was made to run a short scratch race for some of the club’s very young riders. The race was over 4 laps with the first 2 laps neutralised with Club Coach Murray Coombs riding alongside. After the second lap was completed the youngsters raced it out for trophies. The winner was Connor Lee-Kelly from Ethan McConnachie, Elise Nankivell, Harry Lee-Kelly and Baden Gray. This turned out to be a popular event and will be repeated in the future.