Lambrechts leads the way at Serpentine

murray-with-juniors-201261 riders turned out to greet the Peel District Cycling Club’s new winter road racing season at Serpentine on Saturday afternoon.

5 juniors took to the road under the guidance of Club Coach Murray Coombs to start the racing.

They were racing a two lap race with the first lap and a half restricted to a fairly low pace under instruction. Towards the end when traffic was low they were released to sprint for the line. The sprint was taken by Harry Lee-Kelly in fine form closely followed in by Todd Brown and Ethan McConnachie.

The main events of the day, the five graded races starting off with A grade racing 8 laps or 70kms followed by the lower grades with E grade racing 4 laps or 35km.

The A grade race was an unusual event with Daniel Gray breaking away on lap 1 and passing some 15 seconds up on the remaining riders at the end of lap 2 he had been joined by Iain Moynihan and the pair were 25 seconds up. Lap 3 saw the bunch increase to 4 riders as Dave Berglund crossed the gap which was now out to 48 seconds. Two laps later it all came together and stayed like that until the finish. The sprint was taken easily by Sem Lambrechts from Andrew Martin and Dave Berglund.

B Grade developed into a breakaway group of three riders and the bunch half a minute back. Winner was Cameron Jose from Paul Prottey and Andrew McLurg with Peter Mills leading home the bunch.

C Grade was won by new member Troy Fitzgerald ahead of Brent Mansfield and another new member Thomas Breen in a large bunch finish.

Tom Power took the D Grade win in another bunch sprint from Nancy Caceres and Dave Porter. New members took first and third in the E Grade event with Bruce Barrington first followed in by junior rider Kyle Nankivell and Nick Cowie.