Race Report – Bonser Memorial Time Trial 18 December 2013

The Peel District Cycling Club runs a 16km individual time trial every Wednesday evening from November through March, with a short break over Christmas and New Year.

The Bonser Memorial Trophy is awarded to the most consistent rider at the end of the year. Points are awarded for best performance against your previous best time, with bonuses for the three fastest times on the night.

Entering the last week it was a battle between young Jordan Dawson competing in his first season of time trialling and PDCC regular fastman Colin Rose. A strong headwind on the night favoured the more experienced rider, it looked like it was going to be an interesting tussle.

Jordan, was not going to make it easy for Colin, he produced his best ride of the series, taking 51 seconds of his previous best time, the biggest improvement of the night, to score maximum points and improved his time from 35:45 from the first race to 30:37 in eight weeks.

Colin was fastest on the night, with a time of 22:17, but that was 18 seconds off his best time this season and Jordan won the Bonser Memorial Trophy for 2013.

Only three riders, Jordan Dawson, Nikki Goodfellow & Reg Edwards improved on their season best times. Colin Rose, Phil Deisel and Ryan Willmot the fastest three riders on the night.

The top five riders in the Bonser Memorial Trophy were Jordan Dawson, Colin Rose, Andrew Brown, Steven Knight and Dave Simmons.