Race Report – Motorplex 15 December 2013

With the temperature on the circuit in the mid 30s by 8am, it was decided to shorten all races by 5 minutes. It was the heat instead of the usual wind at the Motorplex that had an impact on the results today.

First away was the juniors with Todd Brown taking the win in a close finish from Sophie Buonvecchi with Orla Buonvecchi third.

E grade was a race of attrition, with the bunch being slowly whittled down over 25 minutes, before Connor Leahy won by less than a tenth of a second from Millen Sjerp,
closely followed by Ethan Mcconnachie third.

C grade, was the only grade to be decided with a bunch sprint and less than a second covered the first 8 riders home after almost 40 minutes of racing, with Luke Matthews
first, Justin Brown second and Shane Vaisey third.

With a large number of A grade riders racing in a teams event in Bentley. A and B grade were combined. Which resulted in a very interesting race. There were a number of attacks early on, before Ryan Hamill from A grade established a solo break. He was quickly joined by first time racer Ben O’Connor from B grade. After a couple of laps Ben pushed on alone, to lap most of the field to win B grade convincingly and earn promotion to A grade. Julian Chipper was second and Adam Wise third in B grade. Ryan knew all he had to do was maintain his 30 second lead from the bunch to win A grade which he did comfortably. With Vaughan Berge second and Nathan Lyons third.

D grade saw a group of four make an early break and stayed away. One of the four, visitor Shane Leary, mistook the A & B grade bell for the D grade bell and launched a searing attack, a lap too early and all he could do is watch from the sidelines as Dave Porter took the win, from the powerhouse of the break, Glen Cummins second and Phil Devenish showing a fine return to form after his open heart surgery for third.