Race Report Smeaton Way 19 January 2014

The return to return to the less technical Smeaton Way circuit, combined with milder conditions and the end of holiday period saw the number of riders more than double from the previous week. There was an added incentive to perform this week with Crust Pizza offering pizza to the winners in each race.

The juniors were down a few riders this week, as a number of riders made the jump to E grade. In a show of solidarity, the E grade riders as part of their warmup, rode with the juniors to give an idea of what it was like to race in a large group. After 3 laps, Sam Traianedes was chased all the way to the line by Sophie Buonvecchi with Samuel Aston third.

Next to race were D grade, and after the heroics of last week, it was a very conservative race with few attacks. This lead to a bunch sprint which was won by Dave Simmons from Allan Cluning and Tyler Spencer-Aston third.

B grade was the opposite, an aggressive attacking race from the start with every couple of laps one or two riders trying their luck off the front. In the end nobody could make a break stick and it came down to a bunch sprint with Ben Blacklock winning from Matthew Johnston and John Buonvecchi.

C grade followed in similar vein, an aggressive race with riders constantly attacking, again nobody could get away and it too ended in a bunch sprint with Martin Thurby taking the win from Andrew Brown and Barry Wilson.

E grade was another attacking race, with some very fast laps early on which saw a few of the new riders in trouble. Still most of the bunch stayed together for the sprint which was won by Jordan Dawson from Michael Prodonovich, with Phil Edwards third.

A grade was also an aggressive race, with numerous attacks, after 25 minutes of racing Ryan Willmott had pried a small gap over the b, his advantage cut to about 15 seconds, it looked Ryan was going to be caught. When race favourite Theo Yates of the Satalyst Giant team bridged to Ryan inside a lap and dragged Ryan away from the pursuers. In the two up sprint Theo rode away from Ryan with Luke Matthews who won B grade last week, attacking out of the bunch on the second last lap for third place.