Race Report – Motorplex 16 February

A new circuit at the Motorplex

Kyle, Mikey and Matt on the climb

Kyle, Mikey and Matt on the climb. Photo by Neil Harper

Last Sunday the riders faced a new challenge at the Motorplex, the usual technical circuit was replaced with a slightly longer 1.7km course with fast corners and a short climb.

The juniors where first to race the circuit over 2 laps with Jake Brown taking the win with Sam Traianedes second and Grayson Renn third.

The D grade stayed together, with Nigel Stella out sprinting Tyler Aston with Eddie Wojcik

With only a handful of A grader riders today. A and B grade where combined. The result was a very animated race, with a group of 3 A graders and a single B grader making a break late in the race. Mikey Hosken winning from Kyle Nankivell an under 17 rider racing on restricted 53×16 gearing second and Ryan Willmot third.

Matt Johnston did not manage to outsprint his 3 A grade companions, but won B grade by a good margin. With Lennon Mcclintock and David Wessells taking the minor placings in a bunch sprint.

C grade also stayed together for the race, with Liam Magowan slipping off front to take the win from Jordan Chamberlain second and John Bouwknegt third.

Max Collier and Campbell Luers auditioned for D grade, by breaking away from E grade and staying away for the whole race. With Collier taking the sprint for the win. Michael Prodonovich chased alone for most of the race to take third.

The feedback from the riders is very much in favour of the new course and expect to see it used on a regular basis, depending on other users of the Motorplex.