Race report – Motorplex 23 March 2014

Now with extra corners and added wind


A new course with extra corners and a much stronger wind than usual at the Motorplex made it a race of attrition for everyone. Individual riders could not attack and ride away. Instead they raced in ever smaller groups. As riders tired, they let the gap grow to rider in front and quickly found themselves at the mercy of the wind. All grades ended in a sprint up the straight from a reduced group of three to five riders. The only exception was C grade which did not race and the juniors which saw Lowen Ferry out sprint Matthew Connan for the win.

James Mccartney unleashed a powerful sprint to win E grade, with Heather Connan second and Joshua Brown third.

In A grade it was Luke Pledger taking the win from Ryan Willmot second and Luke Banham third.

D grade saw Lachlan Connan attack out of the final corner and stay away from Edward Wojcik second and Phil Devenish third.

B grade had the biggest field of the day, and by the final lap 16 riders where spread over the course. With Michael Voros winning the sprint, with Ben Blacklock second and Alistair Dickenson third.