Race Report Motorplex 23rd February 2014

Peter Mills crossing the line looking totaly spent

Peter Mills crosses the finishline exhausted after a long breakaway. Picture: Peter Moyses

There was the biggest turnout of the year so far, for the new course around the motorplex. With a number of cyclist taking advantage of 3 event licences to get a taste of racing, without having to commit to a full racing licence.

The junior race was a 3 way sprint with Sam Traianedes winning from Grayson Renn with Todd Brown third.

The A grade race was aggressive from the start, and within a few laps four riders had established a gap over the rest of the field that was strung out and it stayed that way for the rest of the race. With Michael Fitzgerald taking the win from Luke Pledger and
Wade Longworth.

With E grade it took a few more laps for a group five riders to created a race winning gap. With James McCartney first, Phil Edwards second and Lauren Wilshusen third.

In C grade, there were a number of attacks, but everybody stayed together for the race with John Bouwknegt winning the bunch sprint from Scott Frawley and Mark Wilhusen.

Halfway through the D grade race a break of six riders formed, which stayed away. With Nigel Stella first, Campbell Luers second and Mark Smedley third from a small bunch sprint.

B grade saw Peter Mills, escape after 20 minutes and hold of the pursuing pack solo for the next 20 minutes, before being joined by another time trial specialist Peter Carlin. The two worked hard over the last 5 minutes, with Carlin taking the win from Mills with Adam Wise at the head of a charging bunch a couple of seconds later.