Race Report – Wandi Road Race & Timekeeper’s time trial, 3 & 4 March.

Tony Van Merwyk and Jackie Lovegrove

Tony Van Merwyk and Jackie Lovegrove fighting out the win in E grade

Warm temperatures and sunshine greeted the riders this Saturday at Wandi for a road race.

The juniors racing was even closer than usual with Lowen Ferry narrowly winning from
Jake Brown with Todd Brown third.

After last week’s aggressive flat out race, A grade was a more conservative races, there were a number of unsuccessful attacks until two laps to go when newly promoted Peter Mills
and visitor James Lambert went off the front and stayed away until the finish. With Mills taking the win from Lambert. Doug Stewart lead the bunch home for third, almost a minute in arrears.

B grade, was not as frantic as last week, with 15 of the 16 riders that started contesting the bunch sprint, which was won by Mimmo Gerace with John Bouwknegt second and Nigel Stella third.

C grade was similar, speed was consistent and fast enough to deter attackers and slow enough not to drop riders, resulting in another bunch sprint which was won by Adam Farrell
from Nigel Brockman second and Mark Crowther third.

The D grade race did not run from the same script. The attacks started halfway through the first lap and then there was a pair of riders being chased by a group of three, with the remaining riders spread over the course. Then Jordan Dawson, dropped his breakaway companion and was solo off the front was being chased by four riders. John Taylor bridged across from that group with a lap to go. Dawson out sprinted Taylor for the win, with Rob Mold leading the chasers home for third.

The E grade race was another tight finish with the camera used to decide the winner Tony Van Merwyk with Jackie Lovegrove second and Zoe Stolton third.

Sunday had similar good conditions for time trials at Hopelands. While most club members were happy racing over 16 kilometres, the main event was the Timekeeper’s time trial over 40 kilometres and raced on age standard. Which meant older riders like 77 year old Ken Portman were given a significant time bonus. In the end Peter Carlin who rode the fastest time on the day, also just managed to beat the time bonus for the 25 year age difference that Portman had to take the trophy, with Portman second.