Race report – Wandi 12 July 2014

The great weather for racing on Saturday and visitors from the South Perth Roulers saw the biggest turnout yet for this year’s Peel District Cycling Club road race season with almost 100 riders racing at Wandi.

A grade was a very aggressive race, with riders breaking away and being chased down, at one stage the bunch was split in two. In the end the group was together on the final charge down De Haar Road with five riders getting off the front to contest the sprint, with Doug Stewart first across the line, Tom Barratt second and Mathew Upton third.

Doug Stewart winning A grade

Doug Stewart winning A grade – Photo by Peter Moyses 

B grade was also fast and aggressive, though most of the attacking was done in ones and twos and riders getting small breaks. But every attack was chased down and it came down to a bunch sprint which was won by Nigel Stella, with Craig Wiggins second and Peter Carlin third.

C grade was a similar attacking race, though no rider ever established a break, until the final lap. When Craig James attacked and stayed away to the finish to secure the win. With
Anthony Ellison taking out the bunch sprint for second, with Matthew Beecroft third.

D grade kept the pace high, so there were few attacks and none were successful. The bunch sprint was won by Janice Graham, with Alastair Reid second and Dave Simmons third.

Janice Graham winning D grade

Janice Graham winning D grade – Photo by Peter Moyses

E grade with a smaller bunch, adopted a similar tactic of a fast pace, so the group stayed together until the final sprint with Danica Wiggins winning from Dharlia Haines second and Ken Portman third.

In the juniors it was Lowen Ferry first, Emily Wiggins second and Kaeghan Robertson third