Race Report Dog Hill 9 August 2014

The Peel District Cycling Club was sadden to hear of the passing of club member Lara Devenish. Lara will remembered for her infectious smile, sense of humour and was the first to welcome new riders. The first lap of each race at Dog Hill was neutralised, so all racers along with members of the Rockingham Tri Club (Lara was a member) and people who had ridden with Lara in the past, over 100 riders in total, could ride a lap together in memory of Lara.

Taj Redjwell wins

Taj Redjwell winning the junior race

The junior race was won by Taj Redjwell from Ethan Clark to the enthusiastic cheering from all the riders present.

A Grade there was a number of attacks before a break of three riders was established. As neither KD Cycles or Avanti Plus teams was represented in the break, the two teams combined their efforts to chased down the break. The break contained probably three of the strongest riders on the day and they stayed away. In the sprint Ryan Hamill attacked early, but was chased down, with Eddy Hollands using all his experience to take the win from Michael Fitzgerald with Hamill third.

There were constant attacks in B grade and there was always a rider or two off the front, but they were always chased down. In the final sprint Lennon Mclintock jumped early, got a small break, but was mown down before the line with Richard Maher snaring the win, with Craig James second, Lee Jordan third and 24 riders close behind.

Lennon Mclintock attacks

Lennon Mclintock buries himself attacking : photo by Michelle Malherbe

C grade dealt with breakaways differently, a rider or two would attack and the bunch would give then a short lead, then reel them in half a lap later after the attackers were punished by the wind. In the bunch sprint Ben Jackson and Matthew Beecroft fought out the finish, with Jackson taking the honours. David Graham was third a couple of bike lengths behind.

Half of D grade was made up women from the South Perth Roulers (SPR) training for the Tour of Margaret River. This included training in team tactics, which regularly saw an SPR rider attack and one of the other riders in the grade have to chased them down. In the end it looked like a bunch sprint when Richard Stokes jumped early and held on to win convincingly from Dave Simmons second and Sarah Smith the best of the SPR riders third.

In E grade Richard Reeves and Rohan Ross attacked on the slight rise 1.5km from the finish, with Reeves winning the two up sprint for the line. Zoe Stoltan was third.