Race Report – Criterium Smeaton Way 23 November

The criterium season started last Sunday at Smeaton Way, Rockingham. The south westerly was going to make the racing challenging, as you raced toward the finish line you turned in a strong headwind. Which was going to make it a difficult day for any breakaways and riders who liked to start the sprint early.

The juniors had a number of A and B graders riding with then, advising then how to ride the course. In the sprint to the line Josh Asthon was first and Samuel Ashton second.

E grade rode to script, with the bunch staying together until the final lap, in the sprint to the line John Chamlers was first with Simon Stolton second and Baden Grey third.

What is a D grade race without Rob Mould attacking early and getting a break. The bunch let Mould stay away, before reeling him in late in the race. In the resulting sprint finish Richard Ramos took the win from Harry Postma second and Tom Power third.

C grade was much more aggressive race, the main protagonist being Jordan Dawson, attacking early and often. After 20 minutes Dawson got a small break and managed to stay away to take win. With Conor Leahy closing to take second, with Jordan Chamberlin third.

In B grade the attacks where quickly nullified and the bunch stayed together for the whole race. In the run to the line Liam Magowan attacked early, only to get swamped on the line with Nigel Stella first, Kurt Harmer second, Stephen Leahy third and Magowan fourth.

An attack in the first few minutes of A grade saw Luke Baham and Mikey Hosken get away. After almost 40 minutes, Ryan Wilmott left the bunch and crossed the gap in impressive fashion (it looked like he did in two laps< I am reliably told it took him 4). Catching the pair on the final lap and leading out KD Cycles team mate Baham for the win. With Avanti Plus’s Hosken second and Wilmott third. [caption id="attachment_2246" align="alignnone" width="600"]Nigel Stella winning the B grade sprintNigel Stella winning the B grade sprint[/caption]