Race report – Motorplex 30 November 2014

The criterium racing returned to the Kwinana Motorplex. Which offers a number of different circuits to race. The circuit used on Sunday included a sharp turn followed by a short climb up the narrowest section of the course. This proved challenging for the handcarts who where racing with the Peel District Cycling Club for the first time.

The tight turn and the need to accelerate quickly up the climb, quickly split the race apart. With Richard Williams racing away to take the win, with Andrew Bannister second, James Ormerod third and Heidi Thomas the first women home in fourth place.

The junior race Joshua Aston was first and Alexis Carlton second.

In E grade the race quickly split into three groups of two, with the combination of the tallest rider in the race Phil Edwards and the shortest in Baden Gray, working well together to build a good lead. With Gray taking out the sprint to win, from Edwards second and Chris Rouse third.

D grade stayed together despite a number of attacks in the last couple of laps, it was a bunch sprint. With Richard Ramos proving to be the best sprinter in D grade, taking his second win from two races, withTom Power second and Matt Walker third.

After a couple of quick laps, it was the main protagonist and winner from last week Jordan Dawson off the front. Conor Leahy and Jordan Chamberlain not wanting to finish in the minor placings behind Dawson again, gave chase and caught him. The three worked together to maintain a small gap over the dwindling bunch chasing. In the resulting sprint Leahy was first, Chamberlain second and Dawson third.

With only four A grade riders, A & B grade was combined. Which was a learning experience for the B grade as the learnt to deal with the attacks and surges from A grade. B grade was quickly splintered, with the A grade riders driving the pace. As they turned the final corner there was four A grade and six B grade riders. It was Nigel Stella from B grade, perfectly positioned and with a powerful sprint, that will see him in A grade soon, take the bragging rights and the win in B grade.

Behind Stella, Ryan Hamill won A grade, from Luke Banham second and Ben Blacklock third. Adam Jones finished just behind A grade, for second place in B grade, just ahead of Justin Brown third.

For all the results and information about next week’s race at Parklands visit pdcc.asn.au

Nigel Stella again, this time winning the combined A and B grade race

Nigel Stella again, this time winning the combined A and B grade race