Race report Smeaton Way 14 December 2014

Kurt (Hurt) Harmer wins the B grade sprint

Kurt (Hurt) Harmer wins the B grade sprint

Smeaton Way is fast flat circuit. It is a difficult course for a breakaway to succeed, though that does not stop riders from trying, most races result is a bunch sprint.

In the junior race Joshua Aston won with first time racer Dakota Ramos second.

E grade last week was a race of attrition, losing riders every lap. , This week the bunch was together when the bell sounded for the last lap. It quickly exploded with riders strung over the course. With Millen Sjeed racing away to take the win with Baden Gray second and Chris Rouse third.

D grade, was together when Clint Hort attacked as the bell rang, he was caught on the back straight, but not before doing damage. A reduced bunch rounded the final corner and Dominic Da Silva launched an attack and stayed away to take a convincing win, with John Bywater second and Darren Lee third.

C grade also ran to the script, the attacks were quickly pulled back and in the resulting bunch sprint Rodney Harding was first across the line, followed by Tyler Spence-Aston second and Rennie Ramos third.

B grade featured a number of attacks, with the same results. Kurt (Hurt) Harmer winning the bunch sprint with Adam Wise second and Jordan Chamberlain third.

A grade featured more attacking, without any success. Until, halfway through the race Ryan Hamill and Mikey Hosken managed to get a small break. The worked hard together to extended it to a racing winning break. With Hamill out sprinting Hoskens for the win. Luke Banham took third in the bunch sprint for minor placings.