Race report State Criterium Championships 19 March 2016 Tech Park

Last Saturday saw the running of the State Criterium Championships at the Tech Park in Bentley. Peel District Cycling Club was well represented in all junior, open and masters events and the results.

Emma Lendrum winning the Under 17 Female State Criterium Championship

Emma Lendrum winning the Under 17 Female State Criterium Championship, photo by Tony Lendrum

The first races of the day was the under 13s. In the male race, after 5 laps in the bunch sprint Ashton Sime finished third.

In the under 15 males, Oliver Bleddyn, attacked halfway through the race and rode away from the bunch alone to take the win. The under 15 female winner Dharlia Haines attacked also attacked early, established a gap and rode solo to victory 10 laps later.

Oliver Bleddyn and Emma Lendrum

Oliver Bleddyn under 15 male and Emma Lendrum under 17 female State Criterium Champions raced the next day at Parklands

In the under 17 males, there was attacks galore, but nobody was going to get away, Tyler Lindorff taking second in the bunch sprint. The under 17 females, also ended in a bunch sprint with Emma Lendrum taking the win.

In the under 19 males, was a very tactical race, with Conor Leahy securing 4th place in the bunch sprint.

In the over 50 females, Alison Dyson, a strong time trialist, attacked and rode away from her opponents. Dyson managed to lap the field to take victory, with Zoe Stolton third.

In the 30 to 39 females, Cassia Higgs rode a measured race to take the sprint win and then backed it up to race the Open Womens even were she finished sixth.

The ride of the day goes to Luke Pledger, who after taking out the bunch sprint to win the 30 to 39 males, in a very aggressive race with only half the field finishing. Within the hour Pledger was racing the open males event, getting in a three rider breakaway, which then became two. Unfortunately Pledger’s breakaway companion was Peel’s fastest rider Theo Yates who took the victory in the two up sprint. Pledger finished second, well ahead of younger riders who had not raced earlier.