Race Report – Stan Gurney V.C. Memorial – 25 April 2016

Stan Gurney was a well known Western Australian cyclist who was awarded the Victoria Cross posthumously after being killed in action in El Alamein in 1942. Since 1943 the Midland Cycle Club have organised the
Stan Gurney V.C. Memorial Bike Race. In recent years, it has been a criterium raced at the Midland Railway Workshop on ANZAC day. With the construction of the new Midland hospital, the race was moved to the Midvale SpeedDome. The riders still took part in the memorial service at he Midland Railway Workshop, before riding back to the SpeedDome to race.

Due to the inclement weather, the proposed technical circuit was replaced with more traditional four corner circuit in the SpeedDome grounds. The circuit included a section through the back of the SpeedDome, which offered protection from the elements for spectators.

C grade men and B grade women exiting the SpeedDome

C grade men and B grade women exiting the SpeedDome photo by Tony Lendrum

In E grade it was Peel Districts’ Asthon Sime out sprinting Emily Wiggins and Taj Wisewould for the win.

In the combined D grade Men and C grade Women , it was a tight race, that finished in a bunch sprint with Nicholas Tan first, Jethro Nagle second, Paul Hutchinson third in the mens race and Peel’s Dharlia Haines first, Mollie O’connor second and Stephanie Lim third.

The biggest field of the day, was in C grade Men, B grade Women race. It was another tight, aggressive race, numerous attacks, but nobody got away. After a furious final lap, it was Locky Sice first, Kasey Smith second and Ashley Williams third in the mens and Laura Hodges first, Peel regular Emma Lendrum second and Sabine Bird third.

After the under 17 male riders dominated the men’s C grade in the Midland 100, the top under 17 riders were promoted to B grade. Peel’s Tyler Lindorff, who won C grade at the Midland 100 by over 5 minutes, did it again. 17 minutes into a 35 minute race, Lindorff rode away from the bunch and was never headed winning the B grade Men by 30 seconds from Hayden Turton and Luke Howe.

Conor Leahy, Jackson Mawby and Luke Pledger racing away in A grade

Conor Leahy, Jackson Mawby and Luke Pledger racing away in A grade photo by Michelle Sherwin


Peel District members and Arbitrage Racing team mates Luke Pledger and Conor Leahy were dominant in the Mens A grade race. The pair rode at the front of the race, keeping the pace high and shedding riders. 30 minutes into the 50 minute race, the two along with Jackson Mawby had formed a breakaway. The chase imploded leaving only two other riders on the same lap as the leaders. In the race to the line it was Pledger first, Mawby second and Leahy third.

The full results of the 2016 Stan Gurney V.C. Memorial Bike Race