Race report – President’s Handicap – 4 August 2018

For the full results and details of next Saturday’s racing at the Motorplex visit pdcc.asn.au

Rider in TIS kit well clear of field

Conor Leahy wins the 2018 President’s Cup

The President’s Cup in Casuarina is the club’s annual handicap race which sees all riders racing in the same race regardless of speed. The start is staggered so the a group of the slowest riders starting first, then the next slowest group and so on, until the final group of the fastest riders, known as scratch is released.

Each group needs to work together to catch the groups in front and to stay away from the groups behind. If the handicapper gets it right all riders should arrive at the finish together.

The weather with strong winds and squally showers made this very challenging to the small groups of riders who started early, breaking the groups up and leaving riders in the two and threes suffering in the conditions. Scratch was the largest group, who well worked together in the conditions. They quickly chased down the groups in front of them, and a few strong riders from the groups they caught joined them. Building up the strength and speed of the scratch group. Before the end of the fifth lap of they had caught all the riders in front of them.

The sixth and final lap, saw attacks out of the leading group. A solo attack by Conor Leahy stuck and Leahy rounded the final corner well clear. Leahy kept his lead all the way to the line to claim victory. 2017 winner Jordan Dawson took the sprint for second place, ahead of Aron Barclay.