Race Report – Pinjarra Criterium 25 Nov 2018

two cyclist one very young

Claire Hort wins the junior one lap challenge under the supervision of A grade winner Patrick Saccani-Williams

Peel Districts Cycling Club Pinjarra Industrial Estate criterium last Sunday started in overcast conditions. The State Track titles and the forecast of rain kept the numbers down, particularly in E grade. With only two starters John Mogg and Vanessa Baker. The pair started with D grade to give them some protection from the wind. The expectation was they would be dropped by D grade and the rider who lasted the longest would ride solo to the win. The first seven laps of the race D grade rode at E grade pace of 30kph and Mogg and Baker rode with the pack. Then the pace was suddenly at D grade speed of 35kph. Two laps later, the bell rang to indicate the last lap of the E grade race and Mogg and Baker, were still with D grade. The next lap the pair sprinted out of the bunch, with the youth of Baker taking the win by 0.16 of a second from Mogg, who had 70 years more experience racing than Baker.

Another two flying laps and another close finish in D grade with Ryley Collett taking the bunch sprint by 0.1 second from Roger De Pontes, with Samuel Washington third.

C grade was far less civilised, with attacking from the first lap. However, no rider stayed away for more than a lap. While they were short lulls between the attacks, the pace remained high for the full 35 minutes of racing. All 14 starters contested the finish with Jason Giles winning the bunch sprint with Nathan Garbutt second and Ashton Sime third.

The juniors then took to the circuit with Claire Hort taking out the single(1.3 kilometre) lap challenge.

solo racer crouched over the handlebars

Patrick Saccani-Williams in time trial mode

B grade was even more aggressive than C grade, with one, two or three riders getting off the front of the bunch and staying away for a few laps, before being brought back and another attack getting off the front. Then the heavens opened up, in the pouring rain a group of five riders established a break, working well together they established a race winning break. In the sprint from this group iMathew Wardynec took the win, with William Celis second and Craig Deham third.

A grade started a few minutes after B grade. Patrick Saccani-Williams attacked on the first lap, the bunch did not see worried and let the State 80km Time Trial champion establish a lead. Then the rain came, the chase became disjointed and Saccani-Williams increased his margin. By the time rain cleared with five minutes to race, Saccani-Williams was out of sight of the chasers. In the end Saccani-Williams won by almost half a lap. In the sprint for second it was Aron Barclay, edging out Theo Yates.

Peel members performed well at the State Track titles with Ashton Sime winning the Junior Westral race, Dharlia Haines winning the open womens points race, under 19 womens keirin, sprint, scratch race and time trial, before finishing second in under 19 womens individual pursuit. Tyler Lindorff winning the open mens individual pursuit and second in the points race and scratch race. Jordan Dawson second under 19 mens keirin, scratch race and third in under 19 individual pursuit, Oliver Bleddyn winning under 19 mens scratch race, time trial and individual pursuit.