Race Report – Alumina Way Rockingham 9 December 2018

Last Sunday saw the Peel District Cycling Club take to the Alumina Way circuit in Rockingham. With most of the juniors racing the Junior State Track titles, it was the veterans of the club racing E grade Starting with D grade Simon Stolton and John Mogg stayed with the bunch for seven laps of the two kilometre course, before the two were dropped after some savage attacks from D grade. The next two laps saw the pair circulate together before Stolton attacked on the final lap, rounding the final corner clear. Stolton eased up, allowing Mogg to close the gap, in the end a final kick by Stolton saw him take the win by a tenth of a second from Mogg.

Raechel Paris rode down to watch a friend race and was convinced to try her hand at racing in D grade. Paris equipped herself well in her first race, sticking with the group. On the tenth and final lap, Paris attacked, rode the fastest lap of the race and secured the win by three seconds, from Dave Simmons and Zoe Stolton.

two riders sprinting for the line

Kael McCutcheon just holds on to win C grade

In C grade the attacks started on the first lap and kept going throughout the race, nobody managed to get away, until 30 minutes into 35 minute race Kael McCutcheon attacked hard and established a 15 second gap, with two laps to go. The next lap McCutcheon maintained his advantage, it was only getting the bell for the final lap, the bunch reacted and starting chasing hard. McCutcheon rounded the final corner, clear of the bunch. The final two hundred metres saw the exhausted McCutcheon struggle into the headwind finish as riders sprinted from the bunch to catch him. In the end McCutcheon took the win by less than half a wheel from Matt Le Dilly with Adam Robinson third.

Juniors then took to the course for a two lap participation event/race, before A and B grade started racing.

8 rider sprint

Oisin O’Conner wins B grade from a reduced bunch sprint

B grade after a few attacks saw a break of two get established early in the race. Halfway through the race, the counter attacks started as riders tried to bridge to the leaders. At one stage you had two leaders, with a chase group of three, another chase group of three, a few individual riders chasing and the main bunch. The two chase groups combined as the individual riders ended up getting swallowed by the bunch. With a few laps to go, it was eight at the front and everybody else chasing. In the end it was the eight who fought out the finish, with Oisin O’Conner, from Chaise Kelly-Wilson and Tomasz Wolczyk third.

Normally in A grade a break is established, the bunch manages the gap and in the final few laps chases down the bunch. Instead every single break was chased down. Nobody stayed off the front for more than a lap. in the bunch sprint it was Ashley Mackay first, Reece Tucknott second and Chris Beeck from the Saint Kilda Cycling Club third.

cycling race sprint finish

Ashley Mackay wins the A grade sprint