Race report – State Juniors Time Trial and Road Race – Motorplex 3 August 2019

The Peel District Cycling Club in conjunction with WestCycle ran the Sate Junior Time Trial and Road Race. With junior from as far afield as Esperance and Albany racing on the closed circuit  at the Kwinana Motorplex.

In the time trial it was Campbell McDowell taking the win in the under 11s followed by Hamish McGillivray. In 13 boys it was Sam Washington taking the gold, with Fraser McRobbie second and Ryan Death third.In the under 13 girls it was Faye Wiggins with the win, with Rachel Yeo David second and Romy Taylor third.

In the under 15 boys Nick Bolt was first, Thomas Alexander second and Finlay McRobbie third.In the under 15 girls it was Sally Carter first, Isabella Commons second and Zara Williamson third. In the under 17 boys it was Matthew Connan with the win, Joshua Commons second and John Carter third. In the under 17 girls it was an Albany one, two with Emily Wiggins with the win, Jessica Waldron second and Phoebe Sharpe third.

After 60 kilometres of chasing solo, Jessica Waldron sprints to the line for second

In the road race Campbell McDowell attacked the under 11s on the first lap and rode away, passing most of the under 13s on his way to a solo victory. Hamish McGillivray chased alone to finish second with Connor McManus third. Sam Washington won the under 13 boys with the same tactic attacking on the first lap and riding to a solo victory, Fraser McRobbie outsprinted Ben Scott to claim second. Fay Wiggins was far more patient than the boys, waiting until the second of four laps to attack the group and ride away to her solo victory in the under 13 girls. Rachel Yeo David was second and Karri Buchanan third.

The under 15 races, did not see any early attacks getting away, instead both the girls and boys races were races of attrition, with riders being dropped one by one, until there was only one rider left, in the boys it was Nicholas Bolt, with Thomas Alexander second and Hayden Ivins third. In the girls it was Sally Carter, with Zara Williamson second and Isabella Commons third.

Both the under 17 races started at a frantic pace, with the boys a group of six riders quickly formed and they just rode from everybody else. After 14 laps of the almost 5 kilometre circuit the six were still together, not through a lack of aggressive racing. Joshua Commons took the sprint from John Carter, with Calum Milne third. In the under 17 girls, after the first lap it was the Albany duo of Emily Wiggins and Jessica Waldron at the front and the rest of the field spread behind. Next lap it was Wiggins alone at the front and that was the way it stayed for 60 kilometres. Wiggins taking the win solo, after being chased by Waldron all the way. Phoebe Sharpe also had a lonely ride for third after distancing all the other competitors.

two cyclists throw their bikes
Joshua Commons right gets the win in under 17 boys just over John Carter