Race Reports – Points Race Motorplex 16 November 2019

two young cyclists sprinting
Baxter Boardman left narrowly beats Hamish McGillvray in the juniors race

Sunday saw the opening race of Peel District Cycling Club’s summer racing season at the Kwinana Motorplex. Instead of the traditional criterium the first race was a points race. With points awarded to the first four riders across the line on sprint laps, with the winner of the race the rider at the end with the most points. Riders are notified the next lap is a sprint lap by the blowing of a whistle as the cross the line. The number of sprints laps and time between them was at the race directors discretion. The sprints and surging in pack, makes the racing challenging and more riders get distanced than a normal criterium.

The first race on the closed circuit was new initiative of the Peel District Cycling Club a free race to any junior who wants to race and has a bicycle and helmet. This race was raced as a normal criterium of 12 minutes and one lap of the 1.6 kilometre circuit. Hamish McGillvray attacked on the first lap, he was quickly joined by Baxter Boardman. The pair rode away from the rest of the riders. After five laps Boardman won the sprint to the line, McGillvray was second and Rhys Dawson was third.

With only three riders E grade started with D and quickly became spread around the circuit. With Campbell McDowell leading all the way, taking all 4 sprints to take the win. Billy Summerville chased hard for thirty minutes and eleven laps for second, with both McDowell and Summerville catching and passing a number of D grade riders. Phil Edwards was third.

There was a much bigger bunch in D grade and it was a race of attrition, each sprint saw one or two riders dropped. Each of the five sprints was contested bunch sprint, with each one won by Sam Washington. Russell Fryer followed Washington  to the line four times to secure second overall with Ashley Hamilton third.

C grade saw Pete Mills attack early and stay away until after the first sprint. Mills was brought back. Next lap Scott McDowell attacked and got away and stayed away for the rest of the race collecting four sprints to take the win. Gary Hansson was consistently second in the sprints to secure second. Mills, picked up a couple of minor placing to go with his win in the first sprint to finish third.

two cyclists sprinting

Patrick Saccani-Williams (right) beats Jacob Warman in the final sprint to take victory by a single point in A grade.

Within two laps of racing, a break of four riders formed in B grade. With all the points up the road, the bunch went for the slow but steady approach. Which was a failure as while the bunch was reduced to three after two sprints, they stayed away. Ben Mears was the most consistent took the win, Joseph Laurendi was second and Karl Wilson third.

Within half a lap three riders Patrick Saccani-Williams, Jacob Warman and Calum Milne were off the front of A grade. After the first sprint won by Warman, Milne dropped back to the bunch as Saccani-Williams and Warman worked together to increase their margin. It did not look like pair contested the next couple of sprints as their lead steadily increased. The bunch did not chase as the pair racked up points. As the race went on the contest for sprint points between Saccani-Williams and Warman heated up and the margin went done and it looked like a counter attack might catch them. After 50 minutes and 8 sprints it was taking final sprint that gave Saccani-Williams the win by a single point, from Warman with Matt Harvey a distant third.