Race report – Motorplex Kermesse 29 August 2020

We returned to the Kwinana Motorplex after a six month break, as did the wind, this time a strong southerly. Which meant the racing was challenging,  if you got distanced by the bunch it was the end of your race. The wind also making breakaways very difficult.

D grade was a race of attrition, eight riders started and over the course of an hour there was only three riders left at the front of the race. The sprint to the line saw Felix O’Neil take the win, withStephen Johnston second and Guy Pertwee third.

C grade was another race of attrition, though not as dramatic as D. Most of the bunch stayed together. Sam Washington won the bunch sprint with Simon Rice second and Darren Gilbert third.

cyclists chasing

Marion Mundt warming up for Women’s A in the chase group in B grade


B grade was a far more attacking race, with riders always off the front. About thirty minutes into the race, there was a four rider breakaway, fifteen minutes later it was three and on the final lap it became two, with Philip Craven proving too strong an taking the win from Harry Osmond with Josh Vinci third.

3 cyclists in high speed corner

Adrian Pahl leads the winner of Men’s A grade Stephen Hall

Men’s A grade  race saw a prime (a cash prize for the first rider to cross the line the next lap after a whistle is blown) on the fourth lap, which was won by Adrian Pahl. The racing was aggressive, but nobody managed to get even a small break. A few riders went out the back. Stephen Hall won the bunch sprint, with Pahl second and Oliver Bleddyn third.

Women’s A grade was the last group to start, this was to allow Marion Mundt a brief recovery from racing B grade, before racing another hour long race. Kirstie Robson took the prime. Before Mundt and Cassia Boglio broke away. The two riders built up a solid lead, before Mundt went solo and rode away to take win. Boglio managed to maintain  the margin to the bunch in challenging conditions to take second. Robson took the bunch sprint for third.

two speeding female cyclists

Nancy Tippaya and Zoe Davison lead the chasing bunch in Women’s A